MedCEHubCME & CE directory

Dentists · Massachusetts · Continuing education

Massachusetts Dental CE Requirements for Dentists (2026)

01 In short

  • DDS/DMD40 CEUs every 2 years; renewal by March 31 in even-numbered years.

Official source: the state licensing board · checked Oct 28, 2026

02 Calculator

How many hours do I still need?

Find conferences in Massachusetts →

Calculated in your browser; nothing is sent or stored.

03 Requirements

Massachusetts DDS/DMD CE requirements at a glance

CE required
40CEUs
Renewal cycle
2 years
Deadline
Mar 31, even yrs
Reporting
Attestation
Renewal deadline
By March 31 in even-numbered years
Accepted credit
Educational/scientific courses sponsored or approved by accredited educational or service institutions, professional associations and societies, accredited postdoctoral programs, government health agencies, accredited hospitals; National Board/CDCA exams; ADA-recognized specialty board maintenance; self-study with test, teaching, faculty/research, publications and table clinics within caps
Online limit
50% of hours
Carryover
Not allowed.
New licensees
New graduates of CODA-accredited/Board-approved programs are exempt for the licensing period in which they graduate.
Audits & records
Signed statement under pains and penalties of perjury at renewal; sponsors keep attendance records 5 years.
Mandatory CE topics: Massachusetts DDS/DMD (source: Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry, checked Oct 28, 2026)
TopicHoursHow often
Opioid prescribing & pain managementDentists with a Massachusetts Controlled Substance Registration or DEA registration or who otherwise prescribe: training under M.G.L. c. 94C, s. 18(e) (hours not stated in 234 CMR 8)—every renewal
Infection controlCDC Guidelines course each biennial renewal (hours not stated)—every renewal
CPR / Basic Life Support certificationContinuous CPR/AED or BLS (ACLS/PALS for anesthesia permit holders)—every renewal

Good to know. 40 CEUs in the 24 months before March 31 of even-numbered years. Continuous CPR/AED or BLS certification (ACLS/PALS for anesthesia permit holders). Max 20 CEUs self-study with test; other category caps apply.

Source: www.mass.gov · 234 CMR 8.00 · checked Oct 28, 2026

04 Conferences in Massachusetts

  • Yankee Dental Congress 2027

    Boston, MA

    from $85

  • 113th AAP Annual Meeting

    Boston, MA

05 Questions

Which CE courses count for dentists in Massachusetts?

Educational/scientific courses sponsored or approved by accredited educational or service institutions, professional associations and societies, accredited postdoctoral programs, government health agencies, accredited hospitals; National Board/CDCA exams; ADA-recognized specialty board maintenance; self-study with test, teaching, faculty/research, publications and table clinics within caps.

How many CE hours do dentists need in Massachusetts?

40 CEUs every 2 years.

How do I verify a dentist license in Massachusetts?

Use the license lookup of the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry (mass.gov/orgs/board-of-registration-in-dentistry); the board's own record is the primary source. CE status itself is checked by the board at renewal.

Which CE topics are mandatory for dentists in Massachusetts?

Opioid prescribing & pain management (every renewal); Infection control (every renewal); CPR / Basic Life Support certification (every renewal).

When is the renewal deadline for dentists in Massachusetts?

Licenses renew by March 31 in even-numbered years (2 years cycle).

Calculate my hours