MedCE HubCME & CE directory

Guide · Continuing education

Free CME and CE credits: official sources that count

Where federal agencies and state boards give accredited CME/CE at no cost, which credit each one issues, and how you get the certificate.

01 In short

The most reliable free CME and CE comes from federal programs: CDC TRAIN gives CME, ANCC nursing hours, ACPE pharmacy credit and seven other credit types at no cost, and VHA TRAIN, the HRSA-funded National HIV Curriculum and AHRQ PSNet add accredited courses for free. Some state boards also offer their own free courses for mandatory topics, such as the Texas Medical Board's Life of the Mother Act course and Nevada's pharmacy law hour. Before you start any free course, check two lines on its page: the accreditor named in the credit statement and the expiration date.

Free by policy
CDC: credits are provided to learners "at no cost"
Widest credit menu
CDC TRAIN: CME, CNE, CPE, IACET CEU, CHES, CPH, AAPA, ACE, AAVSB RACE
Most hours in one place
National HIV Curriculum (HRSA): up to 77.50 CME/CNE, 57.5 CPE
Check first
Accreditor named on the page and the course expiration date

02 Free sources at a glance

Where can you get free CME from official sources?

Seven federal programs were worth checking in October 2026. Four of them were issuing free, accredited credit when we looked. Two had problems you would only notice on the course page, and one had moved to a nonprofit partner after its federal funding period ended.

The table lists credit types exactly as each source names them. If a cell says "nursing contact hours" rather than "ANCC", that is because the source does.

Table 1 Free accredited CME/CE from US government sources, by credit type (2026)
SourceWho it servesCredit types the source listsHow you get the certificateStatus in Oct 2026
CDC TRAINPhysicians, nurses, pharmacists, PAs, health educators, public health staff, social workers, veterinariansCME, CNE, CPE (joint accreditation: ACCME, ACPE, ANCC), IACET CEU, CHES/MCHES, CPH, AAPA, ACE, AAVSB RACERegister at train.org/cdctrain, finish the evaluation, pass the posttest, download from Your LearningNo cost. Each course has its own deadline
VHA TRAIN (VA)VA and non-VA clinicians, community care providersCourses accredited by ACCME, ANCC, APA, NBCC, ASWB; 0.5 to 1.5 hours each on VA's recommended listAccount at train.org/vha with your NPI and group code VHACCPNo cost under MISSION Act section 123
National HIV Curriculum (HRSA-funded AETC program)Clinicians who treat or screen for HIVUp to 77.50 CME, CNE, CE; 57.5 pharmacology CE for APNs; 57.5 CPE; 47.5 IPCE. Joint accreditation through UABFree account, score 80% or higher on each quiz4th edition accredited Sept 1, 2026 to Aug 31, 2029
AHRQ PSNetPhysicians, pharmacists, other clinicians interested in patient safetyCME, ABIM MOC points, ACPE CPERegister on PSNet, complete the module quizOffered "at no charge"
PCSS-MOUD (SAMHSA-funded)All health care and behavioral health professionalsAMA PRA Category 1 Credit™, AAPA Category 1 CME, nursing contact hours, pharmacy CE, social work CE, IPCEThrough each activity pageSAMHSA agreement ended Sept 29, 2026; AAAP keeps the courses online
FDA Topics in Public HealthPhysicians, PAs, pharmacists, nurses, CPH holdersCME, CPE, CNE, CPH for live webinarsNot stated; FDA CE team: [email protected]FDA posted on 8/12/2025 that its CE program cannot process CE credits
NIDA (NIDAMED)Physicians, nurses, pharmacists, dentistsAMA PRA Category 1, nursing contact hours, ACPE, ADA CERP (jointly provided with Postgraduate Institute for Medicine)Course code on the accredited partner's site, 75% on the post-testBoth NIDA-branded courses we opened had expired
Credit names as each program's own page states them. Status checked on the program pages on Oct 31, 2026. Compiled by MedCE Hub, checked Oct 31, 2026.

03 CDC TRAIN step by step

How do you get a free CE certificate from CDC TRAIN?

CDC is the easiest place to start because it is jointly accredited by ACCME, ACPE and ANCC and also issues IACET CEUs. One account covers every profession on the table above. Order matters, though: CDC TRAIN will not open the posttest until you submit the evaluation.

  1. Create an account at train.org/cdctrain and complete your profile.
  2. Search the course number (for example WB5027 for CDC's Watch Me! course) and register.
  3. Select the credit type you need: CME, CNE, CPE, CEU or another listed type. Pick the one your board counts, not the biggest number.
  4. Launch the course and finish it. If you already watched it, use Mark Completed.
  5. Submit the course evaluation. Only then does the posttest open.
  6. Pass the posttest. CDC's NHSN courses ask for 80% or higher; some courses allow only two attempts.
  7. Download the certificate from the Your Learning tab with the blue Certificate button.

Every CDC course has its own last date for the posttest and evaluation. One CDC page we opened listed Aug 1, 2029; an older course listed Aug 1, 2026, which had already passed. Read the date before you spend an hour on the content.

04 VA, HRSA, AHRQ, SAMHSA

VA, HRSA, AHRQ and SAMHSA: free CME that is easy to miss

VHA TRAIN is open to clinicians who never worked for the VA. The VA's community care page says its offerings are "no-cost, Veteran-focused, and accredited for continuing medical education" under section 123 of the MISSION Act. Put your NPI in the profile and add group code VHACCP. If you see veterans through community care, one course is not optional: the 1-hour "Opioid safety for Veterans with chronic pain", followed by an attestation form.

HRSA's money sits behind the National HIV Curriculum, run by the University of Washington as part of the Ryan White AETC program. It is the largest free bundle we found: up to 77.50 hours of CME and CNE, 57.5 CPE, and 57.5 pharmacology hours for advanced practice nurses. That last figure matters to NPs, whose renewal usually has a pharmacology quota (NP CE requirements).

AHRQ's PSNet runs short patient-safety case modules. CME, ABIM maintenance of certification and ACPE pharmacy credit are offered at no charge after you register.

PCSS-MOUD is the SAMHSA program for opioid use disorder and pain education. Its course archive lists AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™, AAPA Category 1 CME, nursing contact hours, pharmacy CE and social work CE. The SAMHSA cooperative agreement ran until Sept 29, 2026, and the American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry says it has adapted the material to keep it available. Expect the platform to change; the credit statement on each activity is what to check.

05 FDA and NIDA caveats

FDA and NIDA free CE: check the date before you start

Two agencies that appear on almost every "free CME" list were the weakest sources in October 2026.

FDA's Topics in Public Health page still says CE credit is available for physicians, PAs, pharmacists, nurses and CPH holders who attend live webinars. FDA's own CDERLearn page carries a different message dated Aug 12, 2025: the accredited CE program "is unable to process CE applications or CE credits at this time." Until those two pages agree, treat any FDA webinar as education without guaranteed credit, and email the FDA CE team before you count it.

NIDA lists about 20 CME/CE activities, but most are run by other organizations: CDC, SAMHSA, the American College of Physicians, Boston University and others. The two NIDA-branded courses we opened were jointly provided with the Postgraduate Institute for Medicine. "Words Matter" (0.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™) expired on Sept 19, 2026. "Science to Medicine" (2.50 credits) expired on Oct 6, 2025. NIDA's own opioid and pain management CME set is marked "Expired".

An expired accredited course still plays, still has a quiz, and sometimes still prints a page. It does not give valid credit after the expiration date on its accreditation statement.

06 Free state-required courses

Which free courses satisfy state mandatory topics?

A handful of boards and state agencies publish their own free course for a topic they require. When a board says only its course counts, a commercial course on the same topic will not satisfy the rule, even if it is accredited. The Texas Medical Board says exactly that about the Life of the Mother Act course.

Take a Texas OB/GYN renewing in 2026. She completes the board's free SB 31 course in MyTMB and the free HHSC human trafficking course. The TMB course is not Category 1 credit, yet TMB lets it count toward her 2 required ethics hours, and the trafficking hour can count toward ethics too. She still needs 24 formal Category 1 or 1A hours in the 48-credit cycle.

Table 2 Free state-provided courses that meet mandatory CE topics, by state (2026)
State and licenseTopic and ruleFree course and providerWhat to know
Texas physiciansLife of the Mother Act (SB 31): one time, for designated obstetric, emergency and family medicine specialtiesTMB course in MyTMB; TMB says "This course is FREE"Only the TMB course meets SB 31. TMB is not an accredited CME provider, so it counts toward ethics hours, not Category 1. Not tracked separately in CE Broker
Texas physiciansHuman trafficking: 1 hour in the first renewal, then every third renewalHHSC HEART training, "a free online training provided by HHSC"Course must be HHSC-approved. HHSC revised its course standards and is re-reviewing approved courses
Nevada pharmacists and technicians1 hour of approved Nevada pharmacy law CE before renewalNevada Board of Pharmacy free law courseWatch the full video, score 80% on the quiz. Not reported to CPE Monitor; keep the certificate 4 years
Illinois physicians, nurses and other licenseesMandated reporter training: medical personnel who work with children at least every 6 yearsDCFS free online Mandated Reporter TrainingPrint the certificate at the end; DCFS says applicants need proof of completion
New York licensees whose profession requires NYSED child abuse coursework (see NY physician rules)Child abuse identification and reportingOCFS course; NYSED says OCFS "offers the required training for free"Must come from a NYSED-approved provider; OCFS is on that list
Each row confirmed on the board or agency page linked in it. Illinois also requires 1 hour of implicit bias training per renewal; we found no free state-run course for it. Compiled by MedCE Hub, checked Oct 31, 2026.

07 AMA Ed Hub and societies

Is AMA Ed Hub CME free?

Partly. In a June 2025 article the AMA advertises "thousands of free CME activities to fulfill state requirements" on AMA Ed Hub, plus automated credit tracking and reporting for some states and specialty boards. The same article describes its 5-credit ethics track as AMA member-exclusive. So a physician who does not belong to the AMA will find free courses there, but not all of them.

Professional societies work the same way. Free CE is often a membership perk, and the society's own page is the only reliable statement of what is free and to whom. We list no society courses here because none we would name had a public, checkable free-credit statement.

08 Spotting real accreditation

How to tell accredited free CE from a "free CEU" offer

"Free CEU" is a marketing phrase. It says nothing about who stands behind the credit.

  1. Find the accreditor by name. A valid page says who accredits the provider: ACCME or a state medical society for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™, ANCC for nursing contact hours, ACPE for pharmacy, or Joint Accreditation for all three.
  2. Look the provider up yourself. ACCME runs a Find a CME Provider database and the free CME Passport transcript; ANCC's Find an Accredited Organization search covers providers, approvers and joint providers; ACPE has a Program Lookup.
  3. Match the unit to your board. An IACET CEU is a much bigger unit than a contact hour, so a "2 CEU" course is not 2 hours. Our CME vs CEU guide shows the conversions.
  4. Check where the credit goes. Pharmacy credit has to reach CPE Monitor, and ACPE warns it will be rejected if the provider lacks your correct NABP e-Profile ID. Boards that use CE Broker may need you to upload the certificate yourself.
  5. Read the expiration date in the accreditation statement, not the date the page was published.

A course can be free, accredited and still useless for your renewal. A nurse in a state that counts only ANCC hours gets nothing from IACET CEUs, and a Texas physician gets nothing for SB 31 from a non-TMB course.

09 By profession

Free nursing CEUs, pharmacy CE and PA CME: what fits each license

Table 3 Which free official CE sources issue credit for each profession (Oct 2026)
LicenseCredit to look forFree sources that list it
PhysiciansAMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ (CME)CDC TRAIN, PCSS-MOUD, National HIV Curriculum, AHRQ PSNet, VHA TRAIN (ACCME courses)
RNs and LPNsANCC contact hours (CNE)CDC TRAIN, National HIV Curriculum, VHA TRAIN (ANCC courses), PCSS-MOUD
Nurse practitionersANCC contact hours, pharmacology hoursNational HIV Curriculum (57.5 pharmacology CE for APNs), CDC TRAIN
Physician assistantsAAPA Category 1 CME or AMA PRA Category 1CDC TRAIN (AAPA), PCSS-MOUD (AAPA Category 1 CME)
PharmacistsACPE CPE, reported to CPE MonitorCDC TRAIN, National HIV Curriculum, AHRQ PSNet, PCSS-MOUD
Social workersASWB ACECDC TRAIN (ACE), VHA TRAIN (ASWB courses), PCSS-MOUD
VeterinariansAAVSB RACECDC TRAIN
Based on the credit types each program's page lists. Individual courses may offer fewer credit types than the program as a whole. Compiled by MedCE Hub, checked Oct 31, 2026.

10 Questions

Free CME and CE: common questions

Where can physicians get free CME credits?

CDC TRAIN, PCSS-MOUD, the HRSA-funded National HIV Curriculum and AHRQ PSNet all list AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ or CME at no cost. VHA TRAIN adds free ACCME-accredited courses focused on veteran care, open to non-VA clinicians.

Are there free nursing CEUs approved by ANCC?

Yes. CDC is jointly accredited including ANCC and issues CNE contact hours for free, and the National HIV Curriculum offers up to 77.50 CNE hours. Most state boards of nursing accept ANCC contact hours, but check your own state's nursing rule.

Are "free 30 nursing CEUs, no test" offers legitimate?

Some may be, but the label proves nothing. Look for the accreditor's name and the provider in ANCC's public directory. The government courses we checked mostly end with a posttest, often with an 80% pass mark.

Is there free CME for PAs?

CDC TRAIN lists AAPA credit for physician assistants, and PCSS-MOUD lists AAPA Category 1 CME. See PA CME requirements for what NCCPA and your state count.

Where can pharmacists get free CE that reports to CPE Monitor?

CDC TRAIN, AHRQ PSNet and the National HIV Curriculum offer ACPE or CPE credit at no cost. Give the provider your correct NABP e-Profile ID, or CPE Monitor will reject the credit.

Is there free CE for pharmacy technicians?

Nevada's Board of Pharmacy runs a free 1-hour law course that technicians living or working in Nevada need before renewal. Note that the board says it is not reported to CPE Monitor, so keep the certificate.

Does free CME count toward state mandatory topics?

Only when it covers the topic in the form your board demands. Texas requires its own free TMB course for SB 31 and an HHSC-approved course for human trafficking; New York accepts the free OCFS child abuse course because OCFS is a NYSED-approved provider.

Is AMA Ed Hub free?

The AMA says Ed Hub has thousands of free CME activities, but some content, such as its ethics track, is reserved for AMA members.

Is there free CE for social workers and counselors?

CDC TRAIN lists ACE credit for social workers. VHA TRAIN's recommended community care courses include ASWB and NBCC accredited options at no cost.

Related