Nurses · Kansas · Continuing education
Kansas Nursing CE Requirements & License Renewal (2026)
01 In short
- RN30 contact hours every 2 years; renewal on the date shown on your license.
- LPN30 contact hours every 2 years; renewal on the date shown on your license.
Official source: the state licensing board · checked Oct 28, 2026
02 Calculator
How many hours do I still need?
Calculated in your browser; nothing is sent or stored.
03 Requirements
Kansas RN CE requirements at a glance
- CE required
- 30contact hours
- Renewal cycle
- 2 years
- Deadline
- On license
- Reporting
- Attestation
- Renewal deadline
- On the date shown on your license
- Accepted credit
- CNE from providers approved by any state board of nursing, national nursing credentialing bodies or KSBN; other offerings (incl. college courses, ACLS/PALS from non-approved providers) need an Individual Offering Approval before renewal
- Renewal fee
- $85
- New licensees
- Not required if the license expires within 30 months after the initial licensure exam, or within 9 months after reinstatement or endorsement.
- Audits & records
- Nurses must have certificates for the 30 hours ready to submit if audited.
- Renew online
- ksbn.kansas.gov ↗
Good to know. CE Broker is the board's official (free) tracking system. 1 contact hour = 50 minutes. Expiry basis of the biennial license not stated on the pages read.
Source: ksbn.kansas.gov · K.S.A. 65-1117 · checked Oct 28, 2026
Kansas LPN CE requirements at a glance
- CE required
- 30contact hours
- Renewal cycle
- 2 years
- Deadline
- On license
- Reporting
- Attestation
- Renewal deadline
- On the date shown on your license
- Accepted credit
- CNE from providers approved by any state board of nursing, national nursing credentialing bodies or KSBN; other offerings (incl. college courses, ACLS/PALS from non-approved providers) need an Individual Offering Approval before renewal
- Renewal fee
- $85
- New licensees
- Not required if the license expires within 30 months after the initial licensure exam, or within 9 months after reinstatement or endorsement.
- Audits & records
- Nurses must have certificates for the 30 hours ready to submit if audited.
- Renew online
- ksbn.kansas.gov ↗
Good to know. CE Broker is the board's official (free) tracking system. 1 contact hour = 50 minutes. Expiry basis of the biennial license not stated on the pages read.
Source: ksbn.kansas.gov · K.S.A. 65-1117 · checked Oct 28, 2026
04 Conferences in Kansas
05 Questions
How do I verify a nurse license in Kansas?
Use the license lookup of the Kansas State Board of Nursing (ksbn.kansas.gov); the board's own record is the primary source. CE status itself is checked by the board at renewal.
How many CE hours do nurses need in Kansas?
RN: 30 contact hours every 2 years. LPN: 30 contact hours every 2 years.
Which CE courses count for nurses in Kansas?
RN: CNE from providers approved by any state board of nursing, national nursing credentialing bodies or KSBN; other offerings (incl. college courses, ACLS/PALS from non-approved providers) need an Individual Offering Approval before renewal. LPN: CNE from providers approved by any state board of nursing, national nursing credentialing bodies or KSBN; other offerings (incl. college courses, ACLS/PALS from non-approved providers) need an Individual Offering Approval before renewal.
How much does a nurse license renewal cost in Kansas?
RN: $85 per renewal, as listed by the board. LPN: $85 per renewal, as listed by the board.
When is the renewal deadline for nurses in Kansas?
RN: Licenses renew on the date shown on your license (2 years cycle). LPN: Licenses renew on the date shown on your license (2 years cycle).
How do nurses report CE in Kansas?
RN: By attesting on the renewal application; keep certificates in case of an audit. LPN: By attesting on the renewal application; keep certificates in case of an audit.