MedCE HubCME & CE directory

Physician Assistants · Arkansas · Continuing education

Arkansas Physician Assistant CME Requirements (2026)

01 In short

  • PA20 credit hours every year, including 1 h opioid prescribing & pain management, 5 h pain management; renewal on the date shown on your license.

Official source: the state licensing board · checked Oct 28, 2026

02 Calculator

How many hours do I still need?

Find conferences in Arkansas →

Calculated in your browser; nothing is sent or stored.

03 Requirements

Arkansas PA CE requirements at a glance

CE required
20credit hours
Renewal cycle
1 year
Deadline
On license
Reporting
Attestation
Renewal deadline
On the date shown on your license
Accepted credit
Continuing medical education (types not specified in Rule 24)
Audits & records
Annual renewal form: certify under penalty of perjury that CME was met; the Board may randomly require proof before renewal. Keep CME records at least three years from the end of the reporting period.
Mandatory CE topics: Arkansas PA (source: Arkansas State Medical Board, checked Oct 28, 2026)
TopicHoursHow often
Opioid prescribing & pain managementAll PAs: prescribing of opioids and benzodiazepines, every year, within the 20 hours1every renewal
Pain managementPAs authorized to prescribe Schedule II hydrocodone combination products; how often is not stated in the rule5every renewal

Good to know. Extensions possible for illness, military service, missionary work, foreign residence or other extenuating circumstances. Rule 24 does not mention NCCPA certification as a CME substitute; renewal month not stated in the rule.

Source: armedicalboard.adh.arkansas.gov · Arkansas State Medical Board Rule No. 24, Section 9; Ark. Code Ann. §17-105-105 · checked Oct 28, 2026

04 Conferences in Arkansas

  • ARAPA 2027 CME Conference

    Little Rock, AR

05 Questions

Which CE courses count for physician assistants in Arkansas?

Continuing medical education (types not specified in Rule 24).

How many CE hours do physician assistants need in Arkansas?

20 credit hours every year.

How do I verify a physician assistant license in Arkansas?

Use the license lookup of the Arkansas State Medical Board (armedicalboard.org); the board's own record is the primary source. CE status itself is checked by the board at renewal.

How do physician assistants report CE in Arkansas?

By attesting on the renewal application; keep certificates in case of an audit.

When is the renewal deadline for physician assistants in Arkansas?

Licenses renew on the date shown on your license (1 year cycle).

Calculate my hours